Speak up for Circus Animals in Los Angeles!


Posted: 1 December 2016. Updated: 1 December 2016

Los Angeles Councilmember David Ryu is taking the lead to protect wild animals in circuses in Los Angeles by introducing legislation that aims to prohibit the exhibition of wild or exotic animals for entertainment or amusement, including circuses, other wild or exotic animal shows, and rentals for house parties.

We need your help today to speak up for circus animals in Los Angeles!

ADI was honored to work with Councilmember Ryu’s office, the city attorney’s office, and other stakeholders on an exotic animal ordinance specific to private parties and sidewalk exhibitions; we look forward to continue that work on this ground-breaking broader measure.

Thirty-four countries and 64 cities and counties across the US have passed some form of protection for circus animals. West Hollywood and San Francisco have both passed model ordinances, which broadly protect exotic and wild animals from being forced to perform in their communities. It’s time for Los Angeles to do the same!

Take Action Now!
Contact the Los Angeles City Council and ask them to support Councilmember Ryu’s ordinance to ban wild or exotic animals for entertainment or amusement.

Los Angeles Councilmembers

Gilbert Cedillo, councilmember.cedillo@lacity.org, 213-473-7001
Paul Krekorian, councilmember.Krekorian@lacity.org, 213-473-7002
Bob Blumenfield, councilmember.blumenfield@lacity.org, 213-473-7003
David E. Ryu, david.ryu@lacity.org, 213-473-7004
Paul Koretz, paul.koretz@lacity.org, 213-473-7005
Nury Martinez, councilmember.martinez@lacity.org, 213-473-7006
Vacant, councildistrict7@lacity.org, 213-473-7007
Marqueece Harris-Dawson, councilmember.harris-dawson@lacity.org, 213-473-7008
Curren D. Price, Jr., councilmember.price@lacity.org, 213-473-7009
Herb J. Wesson, Jr., councilmember.wesson@lacity.org, 213-473-7010
Mike Bonin, councilmember.bonin@lacity.org, 213-473-7011
Mitchell Englander, councilmember.englander@lacity.org, 213-473-7012
Mitch O’Farrell, councilmember.ofarrell@lacity.org, 213-473-7013
Jose Huizar, councilmember.huizar@lacity.org, 213-473-7014
Joe Buscaino, councilmember.buscaino@lacity.org, 213-473-7015

More information can be found at our Stop Circus Suffering website here.

Animal Defenders International

Studies on the use of wild animals in traveling circuses show that circuses cannot meet the physical or behavioral needs of wild animals. Animals are confined in small spaces, deprived of physical and social needs, spending excessive amounts of time shut in trailers and train cars. These animals are often seen behaving abnormally – rocking, swaying, and pacing – indicating that they are in distress and not coping with their environment. ADI’s video evidence shows how these animals are forced to perform tricks through physical violence, fear, and intimidation.

Together, we can end the brutal training of animals for entertainment.